Four Steps to Remain Sane While Chaperoning a Field Trip

I, too, have been affected by the economic downturn. I was laid off from my job last year. Seeking to turn a bad situation into a positive one, I have been volunteering at the kid’s school and chaperoning any field trips that come up. It’s been fun for the most part. But it’s made me realize that I’m so very appreciative of our teachers.

We typically take public transportation, which is the Light Rail in San Jose. You’d think these kids had never seen the light of day. They get so excited by the smallest things. “Oh my God! Look it’s a dead bird!” “How did those shoes get up on the wire?” And the chattering goes on and on.

My kids love for me to come on field trips. And, strangely enough, their classmates enjoy my company as well. I’ve found great strategies for surviving these forays into educational discovery.

1. Set your expectations right up front.

When I get the list of kids I’ll be responsible for, I pull them aside and let them know what is expected of them. I have a few simple rules:

  1. They must always keep me in sight. If they can’t see me and I can’t see them – they are in trouble.
  2. No screaming or obnoxious behavior. If they don’t know what constitutes obnoxious, I am always willing to school them on that.
  3. They must act like responsible ___ graders. (Fill in the blank depending on your own kid’s grade.)

2. Be firm but flexible.

The field trip is supposed to be fun. They are going to be uber excited about not being in the classroom on a weekday, going out with their friends on public transportation is something different from their usual schedule. Allow them to be somewhat goofy but do not condone bad behavior. Respect for others and property is a priority.

3. Bring a blank notepad and a few pencils.

When you are in transit, you can have them play hangman or tic-tac-toe or some other word game to occupy their minds.

4. Engage the kids in conversation.

This is a great chance to get to know who your kids are hanging out with during the day. Children are very open and honest if they feel that an adult really cares about what they are saying. Be aware of how you respond to kids though. Adults can make a big impact – positive or negative – on a child. We should always strive to be a positive force in any child’s life.

That’s it. Remember, have fun. Let your kids have fun. Enjoy sharing this special time in your child’s life. They will remember it when they have kids and will hopefully pay it forward.

Leave a comment