OVERWHELMED!!!

My goal for this blog is to write at least 3 times a week.  If you don’t hear from me, it only means I am buried under a pile of kid laundry, house clutter and chores. There is a neverending barrage of things to do each day. I try not to get overwhelmed by it all. I just focus on one thing at a time.  My youngest child is 4.5 months old. She is a great kid. She does all those cute baby things, eat, poop, eat, roll around, drool, repeat. Since my husband hasn’t figured out how to lactate, she spends a lot of the evening hanging out with me. After the rest of the kids go to bed at 8:30, I put the babe to bed – but she may not go down until 10:30. Then I must spend time with my husband so he doesn’t forget who  I am. After he goes to sleep, then I can get online and post to this blog.

Early morning posting could be an option but most of the kids are up early – and very demanding of my time. Late night is really the only time I can have a quiet moment and think. That’s how I got through business school. Late night homework sessions for 2 and a half years.

I just returned back to work a month ago after being away for three months on maternity leave. It’s been quite a transition period. I still don’t feel completely back in the groove. I feel like I arrived late to a party right after a joke has been told and I just caught the end of the punch line. It’s slowly coming back. I’m a project manager – a “senior” project manager, no less. I am the one that is supposed to be uber organized with my finger on the pulse of everything. Needless to say, I am still trying to make sure I can locate the pulse.

So what am I going to do? I’m going to be patient with myself and allow myself the room to be imperfect. I am going to try my damndest to get my stuff together at work as soon as possible. But most of all, I am going to enjoy my family to the fullest. I love being a mom. It is really the best thing in the world. It has its challenges, no doubt. I get frustrated, angry, burnt out, and sick of it all. But then the very next moment, I can realize why I love mommyhood. 

That could be why it’s been difficult to transition back to work. During my time off, I had a great time with the kids and taking care of the family as my fulltime job. I enjoy working but there is a different level of fulfillment here at home. Certainly a different level of appreciation. So, I will continue to aspire to be either a SAHM or a WAHM. I haven’t given up hope yet. I still need to convince my husband to get a second job. 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. magpietimes
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 06:05:01

    really empathize! I’m exactly where you are and decided sometime ago to be a SAHM….all the best to you!

    Reply

Leave a comment